Student Affairs Committee

October 13, 2023

Proposed minutes

Voting Members In attendance – Kelly Baker, Tim Bentley, LeQuita Foster, Rebecca Baird, Matt Buel, Jan Layton, Nathan Lueck, George Truell, Rachel Young

Guests – Stephanie Beaver, Michael Thomas, Laura Yarbrough, Tom Canta, Kristina Radivojevich, Dr. Daniel

Chair Rachel Young opened the meeting at 10:30.

Prior meeting's minutes were previously approved

Workgroup Reports

Retention Workgroup – Michael Thomas is chairing this workgroup and there has been 1 meeting so far. The focus going forward is to gather data and determine characteristics of students that we don't retain.

Ad Hoc Student Handbook Workgroup – Dr. Baird reported that they need volunteers to serve on this committee. Ideally a cross section of Staff, Faculty, and students. Haven't had a formal meeting yet.

Supergroup Report – Has not met yet, scheduled to meet on October 20, 2023.

New Business

Clay Berry presented a proposal to change the eligibility for Academic Distinction Scholarship to eliminate the GPA requirement, effective with the Fall 2024 semester. Discussion on components such as Top 10%, Accuplacer scores, renewal impact.

Matt Buel moved to accept the motion, LeQuita Foster seconded. Motion passed by a 6-3 margin.

Dr. Baird then moved to recall those votes, table the prior approved motion, and send it back to Financial Aid for tweaks based on the conversations. Nathan Lueck seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Net, proposal will be reworked and submitted again for discussion and approval in a later meeting.

Dr. Baird then reported on the survey that went out to students regarding changing the lunch period. There were 149 responses, however not all were from students based on some of the comments included. The results of the survey will be forwarded back to the Academic Affairs Committee which requested it, with a copy to the Chancellor's Council on Diversity.

Meeting adjourned at 11:03. Next meeting November 10th, 2023.